Andy Speaks: Soul Mate

What is a soul mate? According to urbandictionary.com:

“A person with whom you have an immediate connection the moment you meet — a connection so strong that you are drawn to them in a way you have never experienced before. As this connection develops over time, you experience a love so deep, strong and complex, that you begin to doubt that you have ever truly loved anyone prior. Your soulmate understands and connects with you in every way and on every level, which brings a sense of peace, calmness and happiness when you are around them. ”

Having a soul mate is a blessing. Not everyone in the world is blessed to have found a partner who have a deeper connection and bond. Few days before, my hubby shared a listing of life quotes and one of the item hit me hard: “If you knew someone who you can talk about anything until wee hours in the morning: Dreams, politics, daily activities, mundane tasks and have the connection that no else comes in between, then you found your soul mate – don’t let them go. It hit me hard because I believe I have found my soul mate – my husband.

I used to remember (and we still love to do on a weekend) is to talk about anything and everything under the sun. He never gets bored while I was talking about my life stories and anecdotes from my childhood, we discussed about politics, showbiz and even history! He knows how much I love history, arts, culture and geography. He knows how my face lights up when I see books or pictures that reminds me of my favorite places or dreams. My high school friends used to call me nerd because of my love of books but hubby enjoys it a lot when we were just lying in the bed and talking about a lot of things in between. I always remember when he holds me tight or hugs me, there is a certain warmth that radiates inside me. The warmth emanates the feeling security and happiness. We also have a secret connection that when we see something, we have always the same idea and thoughts. Even while listening to music, we both have same taste in music and songs. We both have tempers that flares up (and I have to admit we are still focused on improving). We both appreciate good food and it is always a pleasure for us to discover new dining places. We love to dream of going to places; We love to travel together even when we were not yet married and still enjoy the feeling of different kind of rush when travelling. Now that we are a family, it was always a dream to go to different places with our son.

I used to remember in one of my get together with my graduate school classmates, my friend commented that my husband is my male equal, just like me he is assertive and feisty. She even remarked that I have found my match which I whole-heartedly agrees. He speaks out his mind and very opinionated.

I know just like normal couples we fight and disagree sometimes but at the end of the argument, we still love each other. I know my husband is my partner in all aspects of life because whatever challenges we encounter we are a tag team and always believe that working together helps us solve the challenges. Sometimes the challenges we encountered are beyond years of our marriage and yet we survived it all. I know in the coming years there will be more challenges but with the help of God, I know we can surpass it all.

I know few people have the chance in their lifetime to find and meet their soul mate. I am lucky I found mine and married him. To my husband, happy anniversary to us. I am always grateful and I always appreciate the great things you did for me, for our son and to our family. I am thankful for the simple things like driving me to office while you let me play my favorite music along the way, goofing around while waiting in the long traffic, accompanying me to grocery and wet market, cooking breakfast when I feel too tired on a weekend morning, taking care of our son, having fun while we do our “home improvement” shopping and sometimes letting me buy a certain furniture or housewares. The list will go on and there are lots of activities I look forward on doing with you. In addition, I will always look forward on our own “book of our adventures” (just like in the Up movie) and filling our humble abode with love, respect and happiness.

CouplebeachannFB_edited-2

Photo Credit from H. Stillufsen

PS: This post should contain the montage of our pictures thru the years. Unfortunately up until this moment I was still figuring out on making a slideshow video. I will update and upload it soon!

Leave a Reply

