Happiness Project: Favorite Things

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woollen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things.

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites, when the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad”

images-56

Ever since high school, I always loved the Sound of Music movie and even wrote the revised script for our fourth year play for our English literature activity. I must admit every time I hear it playing or seeing the movie played by Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer, I get nostalgic and happy. I even love singing this to my son on our usual sing along sessions while sitting in the traffic while my husband is behind the wheel. We even planned to watch the local version of the play last 2011 but we weren’t able to see it due to an emergency. But my hope is not lost that I would be able to see the actual play. It is still on my bucket list. I always imagined what it was like running around the town of Salzburg, Austria while singing to the tune of “Favorite Things” and “Do-Re-Mi”. And even years have passed my high school friends loved to reminisce our Sound of Music play with our unforgettable play practice, blunders and classmates.

In relationship to my happiness project this year, it was stated in the book that for us to be able to lead our lives fruitful and appreciative of our blessings, we need to practice the attitude of being grateful and being happy with our simple favorite things. I have started the grateful journal for two years now (even before reading the Happiness Project) and I would really say that there are gradual changes on how we see things in our grateful perspective. We learn to appreciate that blessings are not only in material or financial blessings, but blessings can be also in the form of our family, friends, kind strangers and even smallest stuff that help us get through the day. Though I know I have written few of my grateful entries in my blog, I would really want to improve the weekly habit of writing down the significant blessings in my own little space of blog. (Still crossing my fingers on this)

Last week I have written an entry on a quick perk up on a stressful day. I have mentioned that one ways for us to perk up is to think of the things that make us happy or our favorite stuff that cheers us up. It is easier to mention ways to be happy and we can put a smile but in the end it sometimes becomes a challenge for us to produce a genuine smile especially in the midst of stress, pressure and issues at home or work. How do we make it work? Why can’t we just follow Maria while singing her favorite things and instead think what are our favorite things? Favorite things do not mean your expensive car, your branded bag, your pricey piece of jewelry or your “last day on Earth” shopping sprees. What are the simple things and stuff that makes you happy and appreciates life? Putting a habit of being thankful and enjoying your “favorite things” every week makes a difference. From looking at material blessings and always the receiving end of kindness, it gradually shifts into appreciation of simple joys in life.

A favorite thing could be smiles of your loved ones, the happy shrieks and laughter that fills your home, the milestones reached by your child, a favorite book you love to re-read on your quiet times, a cup of hot tea or hot coco to get you through the rain, a simple pleasure of watching your favorite shows or series, a call from a friend or a get together, getting manicure or haircut, cooking a dish that your son and husband love, listening to your favorite music, taking a dip in the beach or having long hot shower at the privacy of your bathroom, a quiet walk on the park or at the premises of your subdivision, a few hours spent on grocery or a few hours of perusing at the aisles of furniture store or shop… There could be a list of favorite things that will cheer us up and tug a smile in our lips.

If there are things or stuff that makes us sweat out, why not think of things or stuff that will make us smile or let our heart sing with happiness? It is easy to get angry but it is better to be happy especially when you life is lived to the fullest and contains a grateful heart.

ecdf3375616b9c2b2fbf7ffeebe85473.jpg

Leave a Reply

