Andy Speaks: At Thirty-Three

Another year had passed and I thank the Lord for bestowing me different experiences, knowledge and people who help me tread life’s journey and challenges. Sometimes I feel too old for my age but they say to enjoy and savor every moment in our life. I am thankful for thirty years of life in this earth and the blessings I have received each year. Looking back I know I am already a different person and learned a lot of lessons from the past. Few weeks ago I am overwhelmed with the greetings from family, relatives, former and present colleagues at work, school and training mates, friends and former students. Reaching the age of thirty had me a lot of realizations in life. While writing on my birthday blog, I found this interesting piece of information: The age of thirty three is called the Jesus Year. I came across Guidepost’s piece on Jesus year and I was quite surprised about what I read and learned:

“Jesus did his most important work in the three years before he died at 33, which is why some believe the age is important, sacred even. Is it actually life-changing, though? Or just a nice way to spin getting older? There is an article citing research from a 2012 study conducted by the UK social site, Friends Reunited. According to Time magazine, “70% of respondents over the age of 40 claimed they were not truly happy until they reached 33.”

Psychologist Donna Dawson explained it like this: “By this age innocence has been lost, but our sense of reality is mixed with a strong sense of hope, a ‘can do’ spirit, and a healthy belief in our own talents and abilities.”

I thought about how Jesus changed the world in his 30s. And all that he accomplished in those three years of ministry, and that last year specifically. It makes me believe that big things can happen in the span of any year, regardless of how old you are.”

In addition, biblestudy.org  provides another piece of interesting information about the number thirty three:

“The number 33 is connected to a promise or the promises of God. The 33rd time Noah’s name is used in Scripture is when God makes a special covenant or promise with him. The Eternal promises to not destroy the entire world again with a flood and seals His pledge with the sign of the rainbow (Genesis 9:12 – 16).

The 33rd time Abraham’s name is used in the Bible is when Isaac, the child of promise, is born to him when he is ninety-nine years old (Genesis 21:1 – 2).

It has been said that Jesus year represents that it is time to get moving and get things done. I remembered how I love writing my goals and dreams in my journal and putting up a dream board since I was in high school. I realized that for me to make these dreams and goals happen I need to start planning, working and exerting effort for them to become a reality. I realized that dreams will only be dreams if I am not making any move to achieve them. Before I am always hoping and praying that some stroke of luck will happen to me. It was like playing lotto and expect that you have one in one hundred million chances of winning. Now I realized that it is important to focus and work on things we want to get done. I was inspired that at the age of thirty, Jesus was able to fulfill his mission and achieve the tasks God bestow upon Him. Instead of saying I am getting older and older, I have to look forward that from this age better things are coming and I can achieve a lot of things. I am looking forward for a brighter future and life full of happy and blessed memories. I am excited on the things that will unravel in the future.

fb35c0f16518ca76340d79035be4245f

I also had realizations upon hitting thirties… I have to put a disclaimer in my writing that this is just based on my experiences and the lessons I learned which I always values:

  1. Improve your relationship with God. Strengthen your faith and listen to God’s direction. No one has better purpose and direction for you than God.
  2. Family is very important. You may have disagreements and different personalities but at the end of the day, your family is the closest person/s you can turn to during life’s toughest challenges.
  3. At thirty three we already figured out who are our real friends and stick with them. People may change during the course of time but true friends whatever changes and improvement happened they will always be with you no matter what.
  4. I always love my father’s favorite quote: “Failure is a blessing in disguise”. We are not perfect all the time and failures often provides us lessons that we can apply on our life’s journey towards success. Never quit and never say I’m done! Keep going.
  5. Happiness starts within you. You have to start the happy feeling inside of you. Do not depend on people and things for your happiness.
  6. Just like happiness, love yourself first. Appreciate the good and improve the bad and the weaknesses.
  7. Travel and explore. There is such a deep joy in travelling and unwinding. It relaxes your mind and recharges your body.
  8. Motherhood changes your perspective in life. But never forget to continue your passion and dreams. Motherhood should not stop you from doing things you love and appreciate. It should help you grow as an individual.
  9. Always be grateful on your blessings and never compare yourself to others. As they say, comparison steals your joy.
  10. Believe that in God’s time everything will take it’s place. Put an action plan on things we want to achieve.

How about you? What can you say about those life-changing moments at thirty-three years old?

In addition I would like to share a timely quote on how we perceive and view our lives…

3 thoughts on “Andy Speaks: At Thirty-Three

Leave a Reply

